Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only. The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney—client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information. Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.
Age of consent
I wanted to find out what the rules were about ages for consensual sex in the Philippines. The laws are complex and most people aren’t smart enough to understand it properly. And the problem I see with that is, even if you asked a police officer, they probably won’t know because they are stupid too. Not only that, but they’re liars anyways and you can trust them just like everyone else in this country.
Anyways, when I looked up the laws, here’s my interpretation for consensual sex:
The age of consent for same-sex relationships is the same as it is for heterosexual relationships. Under 12 years old If you are under 12, a person can’t have sex with you or touch you sexually or perform a sexual act in front of you, even if you agree.
On Wednesday, the Supreme Judicial Court ruled a year-old girl is permitted to enter into a sexual relationship with an adult despite parental opposition. The justices based their ruling on a Massachusetts law that established the legal age of sexual consent as The year-old girl at the center of the ruling was dating year-old Gregory Compton of the United Kingdom. The relationship largely took place over the internet using Skype, Facebook, and other social media platforms; however, court documents revealed the couple had planned to meet on three separate occasions.
The father, after instructing Compton and his daughter to end the relationship, was issued a restraining order against Mr. Compton by two Salem District Court judges. The father in this case may have acted in an extreme manner by seeking a restraining order, but was simply attempting to protect his daughter from a sexual threat.
What’s The Legal Age To Drive In Georgia
What a beautiful view: Nudist beaches were never so crowded with stunning forms as in this year Welcome to the unique section of womans locker rooms! Here you will see everything that was hidden before!
The legal age of consent in South Carolina is However, individuals as young as 14 years old are able to consent to have sex with a partner who is 18 years old or younger. Submitting to coercion, especially of an aggravated nature, is not consent.
What Is Statutory Rape? ShutterStock Today, I read a comment on one of our older posts that really alarmed me. I have a really good friend, Dave, who is I know what I am going to say is going to raise eyebrows, but I know what it is like to be 13 and going through that phase when you adore someone and want to be close. I lost my virginity when I was 11 to a guy who was our neighbor and was studying for his Masters then.
I adored him and though I was scared at first, I never once regretted losing my virginity to him.
Teen Dating Age Rights can 16 year old date 21 year old
Emancipation of Minors Emancipation of Minors It seems like every child wonders when he or she can be treated like an adult. The answer usually varies depending on whether they are asking their parents or the legal system. In family law cases, emancipation of a minor also called “divorce from parents” refers to a court process through which a minor can become legally recognized as an independent adult.
Emancipation of Minors It seems like every child wonders when he or she can be treated like an adult. The answer usually varies depending on whether they are asking their parents or the legal system.
In the UK, this is 16 — but you might feel ready earlier or later than that. This is just one reason why the law is confusing and hard to follow. Find out more in our article about consent. What does the law say about under age sex in the UK? The law applies to men, women, gay, lesbian or straight in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. A similar law exists in Scotland.
What happens if I get caught having sex with an under age person? If you are charged, the likelihood is you could be given a caution , a fine, imprisoned or possibly put on the Sex Offenders Register.
Age of Consent
My boyfriend was looking up the effects Tumeric has on H. S patients and he came across this forum. I read your post and decided to make an account to respond to you.
However, the difference in age plays a role in the severity of the sentence if an adult is accused of violating Ohio’s age of consent law. For example, an year-old high school senior might be dating a year-old high school sophomore.
McCarthy, Principal Analyst You asked whether other states, particularly in the Northeast, have enhanced criminal penalties or other provisions in their laws prohibiting consensual sex between an adult and a minor that apply specifically to cases involving a teacher and an elementary or secondary school student. In the Northeast, Connecticut, Maine, and New Hampshire have provisions in such laws that deal specifically with sex between teachers and students.
Connecticut’s law is unusual in that it applies to secondary school students who are 18 or older. Maine and New Jersey’s laws cover a broader range of sexual conduct than Connecticut’s law. The penalties for the proscribed behavior vary widely by state. It is unclear that this provision covers teachers, according to the Legislative Council’s Office, and there is no case law on point. Other Northeastern states prohibit consensual sex between adults and minors, but do not have specific provisions regarding teachers and students.
In Massachusetts, the age of consent is New York considers a minor aged 16 or younger incapable of consenting to sexual acts, and has several offenses for sexual acts with such minors, with specific provisions when the minor is 14 or younger.
“Age of Consent” under Nevada law
Actually and intentionally touches or strikes another person against the will of the other; or 2. Intentionally causes bodily harm to another person. This paragraph does not apply to any act of medical diagnosis, treatment, or prescription which is authorized under the laws of this state. Intentionally or knowingly causes great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement; or 2.
The age of consent is called “the legal age for sexual activities” and must be chosen by states at the age they see fit. (No specific age is recommended.) As of September , the convention has been ratified by 44 states, while another 3 states have signed but not yet ratified the convention.
By Deanne Katz, Esq. Or perhaps more importantly, what can parents do to prevent this scenario? Parental Control Over Children Under 18 Assuming the teenager is still under 18, there are some things you can do as a parent in this situation. A child under 18 is still technically under the legal control of her parents, which means they can decide things like where she lives.
The emancipation process takes a while, and parents do get a chance to object if they wish. Minors must prove they are financially independent as part of the process. But while legally you have a right to make your children live at home until age 18, it may be hard to enforce that under the law. You could report the situation to the Department of Family and Children Services.
A year-old is almost too old to take into the foster system , so courts may be unlikely to intervene. You can also call the police to force your child to come home. If you can get officers to respond, the experience may be embarrassing and intimidating enough to keep your kid at home. Parents Are Financially Responsible for Children Even if your child moves out without your permission, or tries to, keep in mind that as a parent you are financially responsible for your child until he or she turns
What’s in a number Dutchman, 69, seeks age change to 49
Washington Florida Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best FL Wedding Officiant.
The Florida Age of Consent is 18 years old. In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which an individual is considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sexual activity.
How can my Parents make me stop dating an older Boyfriend? Okay so I live in South Carolina. The legal age of consent is 16,but i’m not really worried about sex I’m still a virgin and want to keep it that way until I’m married. But here’s the thing though I’ve been dating this guy and hes older than me we’ve been dating for about a year no sex or nothing and we knew each other before we dated Does the age of majority affects the child support?
My 2nd question is.. What if a child gains economic independence at 17 or 19 year?